Important: Only device administrators can reset your Googlebook.
To remove all data from your Googlebook, you can reset your device to factory settings. A factory reset is also called formatting or a hard reset.
Before you begin
Important: A reset deletes all data from your device.
Know your Google Account username & passwordTo restore your data after a reset, you must enter your security info. This info confirms that you or someone you trust performed the reset.
Required security info includes:
- Google Account credentials: To find your account:
- Open your Googlebook’s Settings app.
- Under your name, you'll find your Google account username.
- Google Account password: To confirm your password, sign in to your account on another device or computer. If you don’t remember your password, get help to sign in.
- Device PIN or password: Learn how to set a screen lock on your Googlebook.
Tip: If you recently reset your Google Account password, wait 24 hours before you factory reset your device.
A factory data reset erases all your data from the device. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, your apps and their data are uninstalled.
- Open your Googlebook’s Settings app.
- Select Accounts and backup
Google Backup
Backup now.
A reset can take up to one hour. Before you start:
- Charge your device: Keep your Googlebook charged to at least 70%.
- Connect to the internet: Connect your device to Wi-Fi. To sign in to your Google Account after the reset, you must connect to the internet.
Factory reset your Googlebook
- Open your Googlebook’s Settings app.
- Select System
Reset options
Erase all data (factory reset).
- To erase all data from your device’s internal storage, select Erase all data.
- When your device finishes the reset, select the option to restart.