Important: Linked apps are created by companies or developers that aren’t Google. Only share your data with linked apps that you trust. Google doesn’t set up links without your permission.
To unlock helpful features, you can choose to share data between your Google Account and apps from developers other than Google.
Sign in with Google
Sign in with Google helps you easily and securely sign in to apps with your existing Google Account. When you use Sign in with Google, you don't have to enter a username and password repeatedly across different apps.
You can use your Google Account to sign in to apps in 3 ways:
- Sign in with Google button: If you've never used Sign in with Google to sign in to the app, the app displays a non-personalized Sign in with Google button. If you've previously used Sign in with Google with the linked app, it displays a personalized button with your profile picture and email address.
- Google sign-in prompt: When you go to an app that supports the Google sign-in prompt, a notification pops up. This notification prompts you to sign up or sign in. After you tap this, you're signed in to the linked app.
- Automatic sign-in: If you’re signed in to your Google Account and have previously granted consent to share your profile with the linked app for the purpose of signing in, Automatic sign-in removes the manual steps to sign in when you return to the app.
Learn more about how Sign in with Google works.
Learn how Sign in with Google helps you share data safely.
Linked app access to your Google Account
To unlock helpful features, you can give apps from other developers some access to your Google Account data. For example, a photo editor app may request access to your Google Photos to apply filters.
You can give linked apps different levels of access to your Google Account, like basic account info and to access or modify your account data. If you authorize a linked app to have some access to manage your Google Account data, they can edit, create, and delete data in your Google Account.
Learn how to share some access to your Google Account data with apps from other developers.
Learn how Google helps you share some account data with apps from other developers safely.
Linked app accounts that Google can access
When you link your Google Account to an account on an app from a developer other than Google, you can interact with that linked app on devices that are signed in to your Google Account. You can use some Google AI tools and apps to unlock AI experiences across your apps, Google services, and your devices.
For example, you can link your account on a streaming music service to your Google Account, then ask Google to play a song or resume a podcast. With Google AI, you can ask the Google AI app or tool to add a song to a playlist on your music app. If you ask Google AI to take an action on an app that is not yet linked, you may get a prompt to link the app account with your Google Account. This prompt will appear if the developer has allowed Google AI to work with their app.
Learn more about Google Account Linking with apps from other developers.
Learn how Google helps you share data safely through Google Account Linking.
Learn how to connect and manage apps in Google AI.
How Google helps protect your data & personal info
Important: If you delete the link between your Google Account and a linked app, the app may keep the data you've already shared with them. To delete data shared with the linked app, go to the app's website for details.
- Google doesn’t share your Google Account password with any linked apps.
- You can review the type of data that you consented to share from your Google Account to the linked app.
- You can remove the access a linked app has to your Google Account at any time.